The Roots – ‘And Then You Shoot Your Cousin’ (Album Cover & Track List)

the roots and then you shoot your cousin

The release date for The Roots’ forthcoming 13th studio album And Then You Shoot Your Cousin has been announced — May 20th, 2014. Along with that news comes the artistic album cover, the credits for which are posted below. You can pre-order the standard album or deluxe packages with merchandize or vinyl on this link.


Romare Bearden (1911-1988); Pittsburgh Memory, 1964; mixed media collage on board; 8 1/2″ x 11 3/4″, signed Collection of halley k harrisburg and Michael Rosenfeld, New York, NY; Courtesy of Michael Rosenfeld Gallery LLC, New York, NY

Listen to the first single ‘When The People Cheer’ here.

UPDATE: First look at the track list to the conceptual album.

UPDATE 2: Final track list with features added. Pre-order on iTunes.

Track list:
1. Theme From Middle of the Night – Nina Simone
2. Never (Feat. Patty Crash)
3. When the People Cheer (Feat. Modesty Lycan & Greg Porn)
4 The Devil – Mary Lou Williams
5. Black Rock (Feat. Dice Raw)
6. Understand (Feat. Dice Raw & Greg Porn)
7. Dies Irae – Michel Chion
8. The Coming (Feat. Mercedes Martinez)
9. The Dark (Trinity) (Feat. Dice Raw & Greg Porn)
10. The Unraveling (Feat. Raheem DeVaughn)
11. Tomorrow (Feat. Raheem DeVaughn)

1 stereo2 stereos3 stereos4 stereos5 stereos
(4 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)